MMTA Foundation Donations

February 14, 2022

MMTA Foundation Fellow

The MMTA Foundation is pleased to announce that we have met and surpassed the goal honoring the first ever MMTA Foundation Minnesota State Fellow Dr. LeAnn House. 

The MMTA Foundation profusely thanks those who have donated to this fund.

Donors as of 11/18/2021 are:

  • Ann DuHamel
  • Kay Kohenen
  • Sue Krebsbach
  • Kirsten Leverson
  • Sarah Mensen
  • Rebekah Richards
  • Gina Skule
  • Diane Steen-Hinderlie
  • Emily Valine
  • Susan Wege
  • Christine S. Wolf

In honor of the late LeAnn House, the MMTA Foundation posthumously named her as the inaugural MMTA Foundation Minnesota State Fellow 2021. Dr. House served as President of the MMTA Board from 2001-2003. She taught at the College of St. Scholastica in Duluth for many years. Dr. House is remembered and recognized for her excellent leadership of MMTA. Her full obituary is here:


The newly instituted MMTAF State Fellow program collects donations throughout the year in the name of the chosen fellow. The funds collected will be used for qualifying teacher grants. Donations continue to be accepted to support LeAnn and her long-standing connection with MMTA.  Donations can be made via snail mail and check made payable to the MMTA Foundation, 10800 Lyndale Ave. S., Ste. 120, Bloomington, MN  55420, or you can donate online.


Donations to the MMTA Foundation were made in Jean Hegland’s memory.  Jean Hegland, NCTM who passed away on December 19, 2020.  Jean served as the MMTA President from 1981-83. 

Donations were made in her memory by:
St. Paul Piano Teachers Association
Cathy Arnfeldt
Kay Koehnen


Local Association Grants Awarded by the MMTA Foundation

The MMTA Foundation is pleased to award $200 grants for 2021-2022 to the following local associations:

  • West Suburban Music Teachers Association
  • SE MN/Rochester Area Keyboard Club
  • Willmar Music Teachers Association
  • Alexandria Area Music Teachers
  • Arrowwood Music Teachers Association

Deadline to apply each year is July 1st.  MMTA Local Associations are encouraged to apply for assistance in funding educational programs.


Donations to the MMTA Foundation

The Foundation is able, because of you, to support funding the MMTA Achievement Awards for high scores in Comprehensive Exam and Theory Exam Awards, Junior and Senior Young Artist Awards, Kathy Bina Composition Award, Elaine Kingsley Award for Highest Level 11 Piano Exam score, Ruth Anderson Award for Highest Level 11: Capstone Piano Exam Award, Gladys Markley and Jeanette Benson Theory Awards, and the Student of the Year Award.  The student awards are received with great appreciation from the students and are an encouragement to keep pursuing their musical studies.  In addition, your contribution funds teacher education via our Local Association and Professional Development Grants.  We are excited about the newly created MN State Fellow Award and the grants that will be available from the support for this.     

Donations can be made in honor of, in memory of, or with no specific designation.  All donations are appreciated. 

The MMTA Foundation is a 501(c)3 tax-deductible organization committed to improving the quality of music education in Minnesota by supporting the educational and charitable objectives of MMTA.


Student of the Year

The MMTA Foundation congratulates Stephen Ma, student of Jackie Lo who was named Student of the Year 2020-2021.  The application deadline for this is May 1st of each year. The award is given to a senior in High School, the Student of the Year Award honors a music student who demonstrates involvement in MMTA programs. The candidate should display a strong record of service to his or her community through music; participation in musical ensembles; and skill as a performer and creative musician.


The winning student is awarded $1,000. This award is presented at the MMTA Foundation Award Winners Recital held the Sunday evening prior to the MMTA Convention.